Saturday 26 August 2017



Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour, given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science, Sports and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order. The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954.
The original specifications for the award called for a circular gold medal, 35 mm in diameter, with the sun and the Hindi legend "Bharat Ratna" above and a floral wreath below. The reverse was to carry the state emblem and motto. It was to be worn around the neck from a white ribbon. This design was altered after a year.
The first ever Indian to receive this award was the famous scientist, Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman. Since then, many dignitaries, each a whiz in varied aspects of their career has received this coveted award.

Foreign Recipients
Nelson Mandela                   1990
Posthumously Awarded
Lal Bahadur Shastri              1966
K. Kamaraj                             1976
Vinoba Bhave                        1983
M. G. Ramachandran           1988
B. R. Ambedkar                     1990
Rajiv Gandhi                           1991    
Vallabhbhai Patel                  1991
Abul Kalam Azad                  1992
Aruna Asaf Ali                       1997
Jayaprakash Narayan          1999
Gopinath Bordoloi                 1999

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive