Thursday 20 July 2017

Indian presidential election, 2017

Indian presidential election, 2017

presidential election was held in India on Monday 17 July 2017 with the votes counted and the results announced on Thursday 20 July. President Pranab Mukherjee's term of office was due to expire on 24 July 2017.[2]Mukherjee declined to seek re-election.
Indian presidential election, 2017

← 201217 July 20172022 →
Turnout99% (estimated)[1] Increase
Ram Nath Kovind potrait.jpgMeira Kumar.jpg
CandidateRam Nath KovindMeira Kumar
Home stateUttar PradeshBihar
Electoral vote702,044367,314

Indian presidential election, 2017.svg

President before election
Elected President
Governor of Bihar Ram Nath Kovind of the Bharatiya Janata Party had the backing of the governing National Democratic Alliance coalition, and went up against opposition candidate Meira Kumar of the Indian National Congress in the vote. Kovind secured roughly two-thirds of the votes from the electoral college of elected members of federal, state and union territory legislatures and was elected to a five-year term as President.[3]Kovind's term of office will begin on 25 July 2017.


There was initial speculation that the incumbent, Pranab Mukherjee, would seek re-election. However, he decided not to run again in 2017, meaning that his term in office will end on 24 July 2017.[4]

Selection processEdit

The President of India is indirectly elected by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both houses of parliament, the elected members of the Legislative assemblies of the 29 states and the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry.[5]As of 2017, the electoral college comprises 776 MPs and 4,120 MLAs. The system assigns varying numbers of votes to these electoral college members, such that the total weight of MPs and those of MLAs is roughly equal and that the voting power of states and territories are proportional to their population (see Electoral College (India)). Overall the members of the electoral college were eligable to cast 1,098,882 votes, yielding a threshold for a majority of 549,442 votes.[6]
The nomination of a candidate for election to the office of the President must be subscribed by at least 50 electors as proposers and 50 electors as seconders. The election is held by means of a secret ballot under the single transferable vote system. The manner of election of President is provided by Article 55 of the Constitution.[7][8]
The returning officer for the election was Anoop Mishra.[9]

Electoral college partisan compostionEdit

At the time of the election the NDA coalition itself was short of a majority by about 25,000 votes, but was expected to be able to rely on other parties to breach the small deficit without difficulty.
Party/AllianceParty ConsistLok Sabha VotesRajya Sabha VotesState Assemblies VotesTotal VotesPercentage
Other PartiesAIADMK,[11]YSRCPJD(U)BJD,[12]TRS,[13]INLDIND50,26820,53263,107133,90712.20%
Government Total (Including Non NDA Parties' support)661,27860.30%
UPAINCIUMLRSPKC (M)DMK34,69246,02093,137173,84915.90%
Other PartiesAITCCPI(M)NCPSPBSPAAPRJDAIUDFJD(S)JMMAIMIMCPIJKNC60,18047,436152,776260,39223.80%
Opposition Total434,24139.70%

Public opinionEdit

Although the election was not a popular vote, some general polling was performed to measure public opinion. In both Business Insider-Ipsos and NDTV polls comparing support of the two candidates, Kovind was the more popular choice with 71%[14] and 63%[15]support respectively.


Two candidates were nominated. Both the governing NDA coalition and the opposition UPA coalition put forward candidates from their dominant parties, the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Indian National Congress respectively.

Bharatiya Janata PartyEdit

NameBornCurrent or previous positionsStateAnnouncedRef
Ram Nath Kovind potrait.jpg
Ram Nath Kovind
1 October 1945 (age 71)
Kanpur Dehat districtUttar Pradesh
35th Governor of Bihar (2015–2017)
Member of the Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh (1994–2006)
Seal of Uttar Pradesh.svg
Uttar Pradesh
19 June 2017[16][17][18][19][20]

Indian National CongressEdit

NameBornCurrent or previous positionsStateAnnouncedRef
Meira Kumar.jpg
Meira Kumar
31 March 1945 (age 72)
15th Speaker of the Lok Sabha (2009–2014)
Union Minister of Water Resources (2009)
Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment (2004-2009)
Member of the Indian Parliament for Sasaram (2004–2014)
Member of the Indian Parliament for Karol Bagh (1996-1999)
Member of the Indian Parliament for Bijnor (1985-1989)
Seal of Bihar.svg
22 June 2017[21][22][23]


Ram Nath Kovind was declared as the winner after the counting of votes held on 20th July 2017.[24] He will be administered oath by the Chief Justice of India Jagdish Singh Khehar, as The 14th President of India on 25th July, 2017 at The Central Hall located in The Parliament House, New Delhi.


Immediately after the results were announced, Prime Minister Modi tweeted, "Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India! Best wishes for a fruitful & inspiring tenure". In another tweet he added "Gladdened by the extensive support for Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji among MPs & across various parties. I thank members of the electoral college".

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive